PDA

View Full Version : I need advice with something that's really bugging me...

GARcher
March 24th, 2011, 12:50 AM
I don't know if this is the right place to post this, but well... I do it here in good faith.

I've been with some ideas for a long time, and in the last weeks I've decided to transform these ideas into a novel. It's my first time writing such kind of work, but I'm already being far too demanding with myself because, well, that's the way I am.

My problem is simple to explain but difficult to cope with: I have the ideas, I create the characters, but I usually find out that they're similar to other stuff I've read and watched in the past, that is, I try to have completely original ideas (like personality traits, character powers, and so on), but I always end up seeing that another author has already tried something similar. This puts me down because I don't want to copy anyone, I'm horribly afraid of doing so, since I have a little obsession with originality.

I know that what I might sometimes see as "copying" someone might just be this someone's influence bleeding into me, which limits what ideas I have because they are a representation of the world as I know it. My individuality is also tailored by the influences others have on me. But I'm still worried and want to investigate further the actual process of creation, if it's really ok to "borrow" some things here and there, or if I should just scrap it all and start from scratch.

I know that the people at Beast's Lair are all very knowledgeable people who have read tons of things and there's a good amount of writers among us here, therefore I decided to humbly come and ask you guys for help... Should I be that worried or not? Many thanks in advance. :)

Ivan The Mouse
March 24th, 2011, 12:53 AM
With what you're telling me right now, you want to create a completely, AS IN COMPLETELY, original character.

Don't make me go TV Tropes on you, dear friend.

Jase
March 24th, 2011, 01:13 AM