Page 137 of 138 FirstFirst ... 3787127132135136137138 LastLast
Results 2,721 to 2,740 of 2752

Thread: Fate/Stay Night [Realta Nua] - Ultimate Edition

  1. #2721
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian Waxwing View Post
    Thank you, they work! Uh, so when did they switch the Android image assets to 1920x1440? With even worse quality than the previous 1280x960, at that...
    Probably when the version 2.0.0 was released. I'm not too sure of the exact timeframe however.

  2. #2722
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    I found and extracted the older Fate v1.9.6 apk to see if anything was changed vs the images in patch_hd. Turns out, only 1 file, 藤03a(中), was actually changed for the better. a34b and a34c were added, but I'd already created superior versions for those 2. Interestingly, these added files were taken from the 2004 version, not the slightly censored 2012 one. Unfortunately, I don't think I can get the older versions of the UBW and HF routes. I'm assuming the python downloader can only access the latest one.

  3. #2723
    Resident straight-male kuutsundere NM64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,985
    I looked at the 1920px versions for Quibi via PM around a year ago if anyone cares. I definitely haven't anywhere near as much image-OCD skills as Behemian Waxwing, but the following was my conclusion at the time which I imagine to be less accurate than whatever Behemian Waxwing concludes:

    They're almost certainly upscales, but from a higher quality (but not higher resolution) source than the 1280x960 lossy WebP images we have been using.

    However, there seems to be some fine details that get lost, almost like some sort of noise reduction was used...

    In fact, taking the existing 1280x960 images, running them through waifu2x (resulting in 2560x1920) with medium and/or high noise reduction, and then downscaling to 1920x1440 via lanczos3 results in an incredibly similar image - medium noise reduction has more detail while high noise reduction has less, yet even on high there's a couple minor areas where the new 1920x1440 mobile images seem to not be as "noise reduced".

    Also there's still the tell-tale sign of chroma subsampling whereby waifu2x-ing the 2004 800x600 lossless images still gives better chroma resolution.


    So my going theory is that they started with the 1280x960 images in a higher-quality albeit lossy format, ran them through waifu2x configured to "high" noise reduction, and then downscaled to 1920x1440.
    Last edited by NM64; October 5th, 2021 at 06:10 PM.
    Beast Lair's resident straight-male kuutsundere
    (because just "tsundere" makes people think of "Shana clones" *shivers*)

    Fate/stay night-related extended music loops @ my YouTube channel

  4. #2724
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by NM64 View Post
    I looked at the 1920px versions for Quibi via PM around a year ago if anyone cares.
    I knew I read some comment somewhere about a 1920 version with worse quality, but when I searched for it yesterday, I couldn't find it. I fully agree with your conclusions from that time; I would have guessed maybe waifu with n=1 or n=2. It's all very sad really, since TP's original masters seem to have been 1600px for backgrounds. Why they don't use these, who knows.

  5. #2725
    Resident straight-male kuutsundere NM64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,985
    While I'm here, I only just noticed that it was Alyinghood that answered my question on the Ren'Py github issue tracker about 16bit vs 24bit audio. I left a new comment on the according github issue just now asking a follow-up question (I'm mentioning this because, as someone not actually all that familiar with github's notifications, I'm concerned about whether you'd actually still get notified since the issue has already been closed).


    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian Waxwing View Post
    It's all very sad really, since TP's original masters seem to have been 1600px for backgrounds. Why they don't use these, who knows.
    This might not seem like a "kosher" statement, but I realized about a decade ago that, for whatever reason, a lot of less-than-AAA Japanese developers (e.g. not your Nintendo, Sony, etc) seem to make software-specific technical choices that are "questionable".

    If you want another good one, take a look at the audio used in the definitely NSFW visual novel "Ryuudouji Shimon no Inbou" aka 龍堂寺士門の淫謀 - I only discovered it because I was trying to source music that was used elsewhere since that VN doesn't have an OST, and don't say that I didn't warn you.
    Last edited by NM64; October 5th, 2021 at 06:54 PM.
    Beast Lair's resident straight-male kuutsundere
    (because just "tsundere" makes people think of "Shana clones" *shivers*)

    Fate/stay night-related extended music loops @ my YouTube channel

  6. #2726
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    For testing, I had my scripts output a 1600px version of the images assets with most of the fixes that the 1280px version also includes.
    I simply repurposed the FHD mode and only changed scaleFactors to [1.6, 2, 4]
    (I also changed maturePatchName to "mature" and moved these image files to their own separate xp3, so the main patch.xp3 doesn't contain any hd images)

    I had the script create:
    patch_decensor_fhd.xp3
    patch_fhd.xp3
    patch_h_fhd.xp3
    patch_lang_english_fhd.xp3
    patch_mature_fhd.xp3

    What's not clear to me is whether the subfolders within these xp3s that contain the 1600 px assets should also be named "-fhd" instead of "-hd". I left it at "-hd" and the engine seems to be using the higher res assets anyway, I'm just not sure why.

    First thing I noticed when testing with 2x integer scaling is that the sprite position glitch in 1280 px HD mode where characters were sometimes offset 1 px up above the bottom edge is gone.
    Last edited by Bohemian Waxwing; October 6th, 2021 at 11:57 AM.

  7. #2727
    Quote Originally Posted by NM64 View Post
    Another issue I've run into over the last few days is that, if you use 4096bit RSA keys for whatever reason (e.g. the elusive "update notifier"?), electron apps will not work at all on Win7 systems that are presumably not running more recent updates (I've not yet been able to confirm their status on a more recently updated Win7 system).
    As long as github has a fall back I probably won't be using 4096bit RSA keys.
    Some features may be limited on older OS anyways, so I plan to add a fallback method for those OS.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian Waxwing View Post
    Unfortunately, I don't think I can get the older versions of the UBW and HF routes. I'm assuming the python downloader can only access the latest one.
    The URLs and download method for rin.dat and sakura.dat are trivial. I don't remember the exact URL to download it but if you run strings on one of the .so files you can get the URL of them easily.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian Waxwing View Post
    What's not clear to me is whether the subfolders within these xp3s that contain the 1600 px assets should be named with "-hd" or "-fhd".
    I left it at "-hd" and the engine seems to be using the higher res assets anyway, I'm just not sure why.
    This is probably because the search path isn't modified.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian Waxwing View Post
    First thing I noticed when testing with 2x integer scaling is that the sprite position glitch where characters were sometimes offset 1 px up above the bottom edge is gone.
    This is due to floating point rounding towards zero not being applicable.
    "Fixing" this would probably require rounding towards infinity.
    Last edited by Alyinghood; October 6th, 2021 at 07:53 AM.

  8. #2728
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by Alyinghood View Post
    The URLs and download method for rin.dat and sakura.dat are trivial. I don't remember the exact URL to download it but if you run strings on one of the .so files you can get the URL of them easily.
    Did you mean that the fuzz.co.jp server that rnm_dl uses also hosts older versions of the same files in different paths?

    Quote Originally Posted by Alyinghood View Post
    This is probably because the search path isn't modified.
    Hm. Yes. I was wondering why this line exists in patch_hd.tjs
    property hdFolderSuffix {getter() { return "-" + hdFolderName; }}
    with nothing seemingly using hdFolderSuffix.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Does anybody know the names of the fonts that have been used in Mirror Moon's english translation's in game menus?

  9. #2729
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian Waxwing View Post
    Did you mean that the fuzz.co.jp server that rnm_dl uses also hosts older versions of the same files in different paths?

    Affirmative.

  10. #2730
    I tried downloading the 32bit and 64bit installers on my Windows laptop and every time I try the Setup wizard, I run it as an administrator. It tells me to select the 3 routes folders and even though it sets up folders for the 3 routes, it wont let me click Next. I end up setting destination folder elsewhere to Program Files and I keep getting this error message:

    Error: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'C:\\Program Files\\bgimage.xp3'

    How do I solve this issue?

    EDIT 1: Okay, I just downloaded the F/SN Ultimate Edition, the one that comes with the x86 and x86_64 folders. I tried running both v0.9.0 Setup wizards and every time I get to the Components to Install, the boxes are greyed out and I cant click on Next. What do I do now?
    Last edited by Mattpwnsall; October 11th, 2021 at 12:40 PM.

  11. #2731
    Quote Originally Posted by Mattpwnsall View Post
    I tried downloading the 32bit and 64bit installers on my Windows laptop and every time I try the Setup wizard, I run it as an administrator. It tells me to select the 3 routes folders and even though it sets up folders for the 3 routes, it wont let me click Next. I end up setting destination folder elsewhere to Program Files and I keep getting this error message:

    Error: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'C:\\Program Files\\bgimage.xp3'

    How do I solve this issue?

    EDIT 1: Okay, I just downloaded the F/SN Ultimate Edition, the one that comes with the x86 and x86_64 folders. I tried running both v0.9.0 Setup wizards and every time I get to the Components to Install, the boxes are greyed out and I cant click on Next. What do I do now?

    You might just want to try starting over with a pre-patched portable version.

    My post here can help you with that, in this case "Option B" or "Option C":
    https://forums.nrvnqsr.com/showthrea...67#post3115467

  12. #2732
    I just tried Option C, and it seems to be working. Thanks for the help!

    Oh, and whats the difference between Uncensor H-scene and Decensor H-scene?

  13. #2733
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by Mattpwnsall View Post
    Oh, and whats the difference between Uncensor H-scene and Decensor H-scene?
    'Uncensored' means, the games shows the sex scenes from the 2004 PC release. The images shown have mosaic censorship. Note that these scenes are considered non-canon and have been replaced in the 2007 PS2 version (2012 on PC) called Realta Nua, with scenes containing no porn that fit better in the story. (It's said that Type-Moon felt somewhat forced to include sex scenes because they were first releasing for the PC platform where 18+ was what most games did at the time.)

    'Decensored' means, it will show the sex scene images without mosaic censorship. These images are unofficial - they have been created by fans and vary in quality. It's possible to mod the game to use different versions of the images, since for many of them there are 2 or 3 different sources.
    Last edited by Bohemian Waxwing; October 13th, 2021 at 11:44 AM.

  14. #2734
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    Quibi, I completed the quality review/fix of both the 1280 and 1600 px HD patches. Want to go for a release?

    (Principle of diminishing returns kicks in. I think it's at 90% of what can be achieved - the remaining issues are very minor and/or very work intensive. I'll probably get it to 95% within a year or so.)

  15. #2735
    I do not have an Extra menu after launching the game. Could it be some bug or i just didn't download something?

  16. #2736
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by Yaroszex View Post
    I do not have an Extra menu after launching the game. Could it be some bug or i just didn't download something?
    Have you finished the prologue yet?

  17. #2737
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian Waxwing View Post
    Have you finished the prologue yet?
    Idk, if the whole prologue is from the Rin perspective, not yet. Should it appear when I finish it?

  18. #2738
    屍鬼 Ghoul Bohemian Waxwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    42
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by Yaroszex View Post
    Idk, if the whole prologue is from the Rin perspective, not yet. Should it appear when I finish it?
    I think so.

  19. #2739
    Quote Originally Posted by Yaroszex View Post
    Idk, if the whole prologue is from the Rin perspective, not yet. Should it appear when I finish it?
    There should be a title screen option in the Patch menu, select any other option other than Prologue and the Extra menu should appear.

  20. #2740
    Can someone help me? when I try to use kirikiroid2 on android to open this version of the game "https://nyaa.si/view/1438166" it launches but when I tap a window pops up and says something like "Member "callhook" Does not exist", and I cant do nothing, is there a way to fix it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •